How do you do it?! – Marine Corps Wife

Whenever people (non military people haha) find out my husband is in the military one of the first things they ask is – how do you do it?! How to do manage when he’s gone on deployments? How to you move every few years? The list goes on and on.

I really never know what to say other than – you just do it. There’s really no other option lol. I love my husband with everything in me and this is the life we’ve chosen. Did we plan on him being deployed 5 weeks after our oldest was born, no. Did we plan on him being deployed 4 months after returning home and missing the birth of our second child, no. Or did we plan on the Marine Corp giving us orders to Syracuse, NY for 11 months. Or buying a house and then 4 months later getting recruiting duty orders! That one I got to sell our house by myself with 4 little ones at home, Cal being just 3 months old, and was seriously was on the most stressful times on my life. We’ve had our share of oh sh!t moments when I was worried how we could manage. But you just get through it the best you can and survive. Again, there’s really no other option. You learn to be flexible and not make permanent plans. You learn to buy furniture that will fit in more than just your current base house. You learn to go with the flow and to be happy when the monitor gives you two choices when it’s time for orders rather than none! (Like the time we requested – Cali, NC or SC and they said how about Quantico, VA or Japan lol!) One thing I love about being a Marine Corps wife is that we’ve really learned to cherish and enjoy the times that we’re together. And in truth, I know there are plenty of real world spouses who go through their own share of issues and they handle them like a champ as well!! But there’s definitely something about being a military wife that you can only understand if you’ve been there. We’re 13 year into this gig and I am honestly so excited about seeing how the last half our time pans out. I love moving and exploring new places, meeting new people and I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Leave a Reply

